Opera Philadelphia

A Concert of New Opera Created in Philadelphia

Join Opera Philadelphia's Composers in Residence for a concert celebrating new music created during their time in the City of Brotherly Love. Tickets are just $50.

MapPerelman Theater

Sat, Mar 18 6:00 p.m.

Doors open at 5:30 P.M.

Concert from 6:00 – 7:15 P.M.
For all Celebration ticket holders

Cocktail Reception from 7:15 – 8:30 P.M.
For Enthusiast level ticket holders and above

Seated Dinner from 8:30 – 11:00 P.M.
For Benefactor and Vivace ticket holders and above

Amanda Bottoms
Amanda BottomsMezzo-soprano
Lawrence Brownlee
Lawrence BrownleeTenor
Aryssa Leigh Burrs
Aryssa Leigh BurrsMezzo-soprano
Kara Goodrich
Kara GoodrichSoprano
Sharleen Joynt
Sharleen JoyntSoprano
Ashley Milanese
Ashley MilaneseSoprano
Sun-Ly Pierce
Sun-Ly PierceMezzo-soprano
Alek Shrader
Alek ShraderTenor
Tiffany Townsend
Tiffany TownsendSoprano

Runtime is approximately 75 minutes

"His Name is Jan" from Breaking the Waves composed by Missy Mazzoli
Performed by soprano Ashley Milanese accompanied by a string quartet

"You Shiver" from JFK composed by David T. Little
Performed by mezzo-soprano Aryssa Leigh Burrs accompanied by violin and piano

Excerpts from Blessed composed by Courtney Bryan
Performed by soprano Tiffany Townsend accompanied by the composer on piano

Scene 2 duet from A Trip to the Moon composed by Andrew Norman
Performed by soprano Kara Goodrich and tenor Alek Shrader accompanied by piano and string quartet

Winnie's aria from Sky on Swings composed by Lembit Beecher
Performed by soprano Sharleen Joynt accompanied by piano

"Drift, darling, drift" from The Rose Elf composed by David Hertzberg
Performed by mezzo-soprano Sun-Ly Pierce accompanied by piano

"My Daughter" from 10 Days in a Madhouse composed by Rene Orth
Performed by mezzo-soprano Amanda Bottoms accompanied by piano, electronics, clarinet, and cello

"Hope (pt. 2)" from Cycles of My Being composed by Tyshawn Sorey
Performed by tenor Lawrence Brownlee accompanied by piano